3 IowaWatch Reporters Earn Online News Awards

IowaWatch reporters Sarah Hadley, Katie Kuntz and Danielle Wilde have been named winners of Society of Professional Journalists’ (SPJ) regional Mark of Excellence Awards. They will learn if they placed first, second or third when the SPJ makes that announcement at a regional meeting April 25-26 in Overland Park, Kan. First place winners in each of 12 SPJ regions will be eligible for national Mark of Excellence awards, which are to be announced in late April. The awards are given annually for published journalism produced by college students. Hadley, Kuntz and Wilde are students in the University of Iowa School of Journalism and Mass Communication and volunteer journalists with IowaWatch, a nonprofit news organization.