News Quiz: Iowa’s History-Making Governors

Print More

IowaWatch photo illustration

Left to right, Republican Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds (2017-); former Republican Iowa Gov. and U.S. Sen. Bourke Hickenlooper (1943-45 as governor); Gov. Ansel Briggs (1846-50), a Democrat who was Iowa's first elected governor; and former Republican Gov. Terry Branstad (1983-1999, 2011-17).

Terry Branstad resigned on May 24, 2017, his long-held position as Iowa governor to take his new job as U.S. ambassador to China, handing to Kim Reynolds responsibility for the duties required of Iowa’s chief executive officer.

Reynolds made history as Iowa’s first female governor. Here is a chance to test your knowledge on some other governors who have served Iowa during its history.